Cutest Lady Bug Appetizer

I saw this on Pinterest.  Isn’t it the cutest?

ladybug

Ingredients:

The Caprese salad was made to resemble the colors of the Italian flag. This timeless summer appetizer gets a lighthearted transformation by swapping out the classic sliced tomato for this ladybug cherry tomato.

fresh basil
mozzarella cheese
cherry tomatoes or grape tomatoes
black olives from the salad bar
balsamic vinegar

Cooking Instructions:

 Cut your mozzarella into squares
Place a basil leaf on top
Slice your tomato almost in two, lengthwise
Place the tomato on top of the basil leaf
Place the olive in front as the head
Decorate with a little Balsamic vinegar

*Note: you can also swap out the mozzarella cheese and replace with low- fat or non-Fat cottage cheese.
You can also add whole wheat crackers

I have not tried these yet but they are on my list of things to try soon.  I will try to find a low fat version of mozzarella cheese to make it a little better.  Right now my weight is still bouncing around above 230 so I am holding off on any little extras.  I see 230.8, then 230.1, then 230.2.  Ahhh, it is making me crazy.  I am still trying to eat my calories and not starve myself to get there but I keep being tempted.  Maybe walking isn’t enough?  I just don’t see how I am staying at this weight all week.  This is one of those things that get me down and I want to give up and eat a cupcake.  I don’t understand why I think like that.  A cupcake for sure won’t solve my problem, I just have to keep telling myself that.  When the kids are in bed tonight I am going to hop on the treadmill and attempt to jog/walk for 20-30min.  Hopefully that allows me to hurl myself over that 230 line into the 220’s.

6 thoughts on “Cutest Lady Bug Appetizer

  1. Step away from the cupcake! 🙂 Walking was never enough for me either. I do 2 miles a day with the dog and walk miles each night shift but still got to 20 stone. As well as doing 20 mins a day on the Wii Fit I’ve been following along to various youtube videos. Nothing crazy, just gentle beginners dance for dummies, beginners yoga and even some line dancing. Just little bits here and there to move more. You’ll get there. We can drag each other to the finish line. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a good idea. Maybe I will treat myself to a zumba video to add some fun cardio. I tried beginners yoga but I was discouraged because I couldn’t even do the beginner moves. I am not flexible at all. Know of any beginner dvd to beginner’s yoga? 😀

    Like

  3. I don’t know of any DVDs I’m afraid. I’ve been on the youtube videos of ‘Yoga With Adriene’. She has a beginner’s series. I have 2 of those blue foam yoga blocks things that I use if I can’t reach the floor. She’s very gentle though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are so adorable! Stay strong. I know the cupcakes are tempting.

    You’ve done really well so far. This is just a plateau. I agree to try changing up your exercise routine for a week in order to confuse your body. The best exercises are the ones you enjoy doing. So if you hate yoga (I really, really do), then find something you like. I love kickboxing and dance routines when I actually work out. Not zumba, because I have no Latin rhythm, but I do have So You Think You Can Dance cardio and Dancing with the Stars which are really fun. And the totally guilty pleasure…Richard Simmons! On VHS. Dancing to Broadway. oh yeah.

    Like

Leave a Reply

